“His” and “Her” Partners

Only an accountant would love this, I’m sure.

My wife I both served with our organization prior to getting married, and we were both fully supported at the time of our marriage.

One of the fields on the “Family” tab in TNT is the “Family Side” field. This is used in conjunction with the “Family Level” field to denote the relationship:

  • His / Sibling
  • Hers / Aunt
  • His / Cousin
  • Hers / Nephew/Niece (below)

2016-08-15-FamilySide.jpg

We have many relatives in our database, but most of them are not financial partners, and there is no value for me to track giving by that relationship.

Instead, I use the “Family Side” field to indicate who has the closer relationship with the partner (practically, whose database were they in before we were married?). Since our marriage, I have continued to use the Family Side to represent new partners; for example, if the referral came from one of my before-marriage partners… sort of a referral chain. I use “None” for new partners who joined our team because of us as a couple—and I am surprised at how few of those there are.

Even today—approaching our 20th wedding anniversary—almost every one of our new partners is the result of relationships built from our early days in ministry and their successive referrals.

Why is this useful for me? Again, only an accountant would love this… but I use it to help me analyze where the growth of our financial partners comes from–and where to invest my future energy.

If you look at the chart below, you can see that over the past 15 years or so, almost all of the growth in new giving has come from partners associated with my former partners. It is not that I have not tried to cultivate new support and new referrals from my wife’s home support base. I have tried! And God has raised up new partners to replace those who have stopped giving. But the practical reality is that when it comes to my time, I see far more success in broadening the support from my side.

2016-08-18-HisHers.jpg

So why do I share this? Do I think YOU should start using His & Hers this way? Probably not (unless you are weird like me!). But the greater value is in seeing creative new ways to use TntConnect to help you. TNT was not designed to track support this way; I just figured out how to do something I wanted it to do, and have found it really helpful.

2 thoughts on ““His” and “Her” Partners

  1. I’ve started trying this. I’ve always thought “both” would also be a good option. Our children and Mike’s parents are “both,” not just his or hers side. Using your idea here, “both” could indicate a relationship has developed for both sides, which would be a good goal. You really don’t want a ministry partner only connected to one of you. Also, with “both,” you could both share the opportunities to maintain relationships. If you or Kathy have more available time, then, you could do some of the “both” donors, not just the “his” donors..

    Like

  2. “Both” is certainly a good idea. But I remind myself that this field wasn’t designed for how I use it, so I don’t hope for or need “Both”. Instead, the “” implies both for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

