MPD Connections: Perseverance

(Note: “MPD” is “Ministry Partner Development”, Cru’s internal name for the support raising process. The “MPD Connections” is a weekly [school-year only] email that Cru sends to any staff member who want a weekly encouraging tip on support raising.)

In an MPD Connections article in Spring, 2016, Dave Dickens shared:

If there is one thing that marks someone who is successful at MPD it is perseverance. Let’s face it, MPD is tough and not for the faint of heart. We deal with lots of rejection, we are ignored (even by friends!) and we are misunderstood.

The Scriptures have much to say about perseverance. In Colossians 1:11-12 Paul encourages the church with these words:  “…being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and joyfully giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in the kingdom of light.”

I asked a few friends to share some practical things which help them to persevere and be tenacious in MPD, especially with making phone calls. Here is how they responded:

  • If my plan is to make phone calls in the evening or the next day, I text some friends a few hours before “go time” asking them to pray. That almost always ensures that I follow through and get on the phone.
  • I keep in mind that MPD is part of the Lord’s calling on my life.
  • My wife helps me to persevere. When I go to make calls she gives me a high five and says, “Go get ‘em tiger!” I love that!
  • I keep in mind Bill Hybels’ definition of perseverance: “crashing through quitting points.” That imagery is powerful for me.
  • I pump up the volume. Seriously! Before I get on the phone I play loud worship songs to remind myself that He is worthy of my life and work and that I want more people to be around His throne.
  • I start with the hardest, most intimidating calls. I jump in the deep end! Once those are done, I’m golden.

Why do I (Bob) write about this?

Because http://www.TNT.tips integrates seamlessly with MPD Connections. Many of the weekly tips from Dave and his team are made possible (or “made easier”) by using TntConnect. When it comes to perseverance, for example, my #1 TntConnect tip is to have TntConnect open every day, and use it as the source for my daily support development activity.

Looking at Dave’s friends’ suggestions from above, here are two of those tips, with ideas on how to do them in TntConnect:

If my plan is to make phone calls in the evening or the next day, I text some friends a few hours before “go time” asking them to pray. That almost always ensures that I follow through and get on the phone.

TntConnect Tip: Use TntConnect to create a “prayer warrior list” of that small handful of people you text or email when it’s “go time”. You can either log that activity, or just use the list as the reminder to email/text each person.

I start with the hardest, most intimidating calls. I jump in the deep end! Once those are done, I’m golden.

TntConnect Tip: The most important thing here is actually just having the list “ready to go”. It’s a lot easier to persevere through a list of calls when that list is very visible—a solid start and end person. While you cannot ‘prioritize’ the list in TntConnect, you can see the list, which makes it easier than just guessing each time you dial the phone, “Who should I call now?” This helps me personally remove angst—I just dial each one in succession.

Sometimes I also sort the list of contacts to call in the order of “Last Call” field. That way, the ones at the bottom of the list are the ones I’ve called most recently; if I have to call 10 times per person to reach them, it’s best if I am not calling the top half of the list 2x as often as the bottom half.

LookupCustomSort.png

 

Leave a Reply

