Je me souviens … “I Remember”

montrealBoth of my parents were raised in Montreal, Quebec, or, more accurately, Montréal, Québec, though my parents are not French.

quebecvanityplates

The motto of Quebec is “Je me souviens”, which means, “I remember”. While French speakers make up 80% of Quebec’s population, they are only 20% of Canada’s total population. As a result of this unique “majority here but minority overall”, it is extremely important to Québécois (French-speaking Quebeckers) to remember their unique French heritage—and the contribution it brings to Canada.

Although work brought my parents to the U.S. between children, I am the only one of my U.S.-born siblings who is also a Canadian citizen. As a family, we always spent a week every year in Montreal, and it is like a second home to me (even though I too do not speak French… yet).

For some reason, the motto of Quebec has always stuck with me. “I remember”. When I think about my walk with God—and how He worked in my life in countless ways, “I remember.” God repeatedly instructed the people of Israel to remember what He had done for them. Whenever I wrestle with support raising, I only have to look at TNT to be astounded at what God has done (I celebrated 25 years in the mission field this week). I remember.

Now you’re probably wondering what this has to do with today’s blog post. Absolutely nothing. I just wanted to share that story.

Well, almost nothing.

TntConnect is about to have a major new release, TntConnect 3.2. I have been testing the Beta versions for about 6 weeks, and while I will tell you a lot more about it in future blog posts, let me say this: This version contains some things I have been dreaming of for years. And one of them is about “remembering”.

I repeatedly write about how great it is that TntConnect is data intensive. And the ability to export data quickly and easily and work with it in Excel makes TNT stand out from other support raising tools.

I constantly use the Group Actions | Export Current Group feature. I just did it yesterday to analyze the giving last year for all of my partners. But when I did that, I realized I forgot to select the right fields to export. So I ran the Export Current Group again.

And it remembered.

In the past, Export Current Group would display the default fields. I would change the fields to what I wanted, but not press Save Default Fields because I figured I would not need that exact export again. But I usually did… because I had the wrong group, the wrong fields, etc.

Now, TNT just remembers what I did last time.

2017-02-06-exportcurrentgroup

It’s a simple tweak, but I am thrilled beyond belief. Over the course of thousands of exports, this little tweak will add up to a big time-saver for me.

Speaking of remembering, will you remember to pray for Troy Wolbrink as he finishes up the development of TntConnect 3.2? This version has significant new features for local team fund development, but which will also be very much appreciated by those who rely heavily on TNT to help them run strategies of any kind.

 

Leave a Reply

