Exclusive Saved Groups means that a contact may only be in ONE of the sub-groups, unlike previously when a contact could be in multiple groups in the category.
I have longed for this feature for years. Indeed, my video on using Saved Groups to manage an Increase Strategy would have been substantially easier had Exclusive Saved Groups been available back then!
Basics of Exclusive Saved Groups:
- Only available by right-clicking in the Groups list and selecting “New Exclusive Group”
- Can have “nested exclusive saved groups” (also new in 3.2, and covered in an upcoming blog post)
- When you add a contact to the Exclusive Saved Group and that contact is already in a related exclusive group, that contact will be removed (without notification) from the other group. (You can see this happen if you check the box on the Groups tab)
- Are more visible on the Groups tab. Now, instead of a simple, long list of all Groups, all exclusive saved groups are in blue and have a line above and below the exclusive set.
There are several subtle nuances that I do not have room to explain here, but you can learn about through trial-and-error.
Not all sub-groups should be exclusive
There are times, of course, when you want one contact to be allowed in multiple sub-groups. For example, I have a “Newsletters” category that has four different newsletter options. The regular newsletter preferences (Paper, Email, etc., + multiple languages introduced in 3.1) are not helpful if you have multiple newsletters in the same language.
In this example, it is possible that one contact could receive multiple newsletters—such as the Christmas Newsletter and the Prayer Blast.